The Weekend Layering Job

Everything starts with an idea, right? I usually like to wear just one polish colour at a time. And I like to layer, but only when I’ve worn a polish for a day and want a new look without the hassle of removal. Well, today I broke out of my comfort zone using three polishes at once. First up is Alix Avien No 60 — a stark white creme, opaque and streak free in two coats.

It was interesting enough on its own; at least white makes me look tan in comparison. 😉 But I continued with my plan, and added Orly’s Iron Butterfly diagonally on top. I really decided to use this particular black for the drying time, which is fast as per usual with  matte polishes.

It took two layers of the Orly and it was an easier application that I’d thought based on my previous experience with the polish.

I could have stopped now, but as I had a plan, I layered a very thin coat of Alix Avien’s Glitterbomb — hexagonal holo glitter and silver glitter in a sheer base over it.

I went very thin with the final glitter coat, as I didn’t want to overwhelm the simplicity of the black and white, just add a little festivity to it. 🙂

I was also really afraid that the entire thing wouldn’t dry as I didn’t bother to wait between the coats, but after a coat of China Glaze’s Fast Forward it seems to have done alright on that front as well. 🙂

I still need a lot of practice freehanding even something as simple as diagonal tips, but I think for my second attempt this isn’t half bad.

All in all, I really like the combo.

Hope you’re all having a great weekend!

V.

 

Alix Avien is a Turkish brand available here is Estonia in some Russian cosmetics shops. I gather you can also pick these babies up when vacationing in Turkey or the Arabic countries.
Leave a Reply

