Christmas Manicure No 1

Yeah, I know it’s not even December yet. But I didn’t get to do a Halloween manicure nor a Thanksgiving one, so I want to get started early on various Christmas manicures. πŸ™‚ And I started with the most classic of them. One I’ve wanted to do for a while now.

What is the most classic Christmas red you can think of? For me, it’s China Glaze’s Ruby Pumps — amazingly dense red smallish glitter in a red jelly base. Perfectly opaque and ΓΌber shimmery in two coats. I’ve actually worn it layered as well.

But getting back to the Christmas manicure…. I applied Ruby Pumps for my base knowing it’s a polish I love. But I’d seriously forgotten how beautiful it looks on the nails. If you’ve got it, you know what I mean. πŸ™‚

For me, this is one of those impossible to photograph polishes. I mean that I even don’t want to photograph it because no pictures can do justice for the incredible sparkles on the nails. If you want to know what it really looks like, find a Technicolor copy of Wizard of Oz and take a look at Dorothy’s pumps. πŸ˜‰

When I had Ruby Pumps on the nails, I almost stopped there, I was so infatuated with it. In fact, I wore it alone for a day.

But then I continued with my plans for a Christmas manicure — red and gold. I used China Glaze’s Midnight Kiss (I love how cool that gold foil is, I cannot wear warm gold) to create various diagonal stripes on my nails using the “tape method”.

On my right hand (which I never photograph usually) I added a diagonal golden tip on my pinky, and a medium diagonal stripe on my index finger.

And on my left hand, I added a thin, near the tip diagonal stripe on my ring finger and a heavy diagonal stripe on my thumb.

I thought the gold polish would distract from the beauty that is Ruby Pumps, but to my surprise it doesn’t at all. It actually looks subtle next to the red sparkle!

The manicure looks and feels very rich and decadent on. I’m really liking it! πŸ˜€

And I’m definitely liking using stripes on my nails (says the girl who said a strong “no” to any and all nail art once upon a time).

V.

 

 

I get my China Glaze polishes from eBay seller beautyzone2007.

12 thoughts on “Christmas Manicure No 1

  1. Ruby Pumps has been on my wishlist for a while! I guess a trip to Beautypro will be helpful…

    I already own Essie’s Ruby Slippers and am planning to get Avon’s discontinued Ruby Slippers as well. It will be a nice little collection of polishes dedicated to ruby footwear πŸ˜›

    • Sounds like a beautiful collection. I don’t own the Essie nor the Avon, but from what I hear, Ruby Pumps is definitely a must in the footwear imitation category. πŸ˜‰

      Btw, how did your holo-hunt go? πŸ™‚

  2. I actually did a similar mani yesterday except mine’s with silver holo instead of gold. Oh and I’m wearing another red, not Ruby Pumps..
    I recently got Ruby Pumps for a friend as a present, but I should really get it for myself too.. It looks amazing layered over a black nail polish.

  3. Oh they’re both just cheapo polishes. The silver is one of the 3D shiny ones from Maxima, the red one is from Wild & Crazy. But they’re both actually quite pretty πŸ™‚

      • Well, I have 6 of their polishes. One of them is very sheer, so I don’t like that one. The others have all somewhat frosty finish which I don’t quite like. But the one I’m wearing right now, Vogue, is actually a really pretty, a bit shimmery colour. The formula of that one is great, applies in two coats and the lasting power is average. The other 4 have different formulas, some of them are a bit streaky and some of them are just.. Not my cup of tea πŸ™‚ Overall I think they’re hit or miss, but worth trying since they’re so cheap.

Leave a Reply

