Sally Hansen Mystic Lilac

From what I hear, Sally Hansen’s Xtreme Wear series Mystic Lilac is a limited edition polish mostly available in the States. So I was over the moon when opportunity presented itself for me to get it. πŸ™‚

I’ve seen swatches of this little beauty pop up on nail blogs for a while now, and I just knew I’d love the polish. I mean, what’s there not to like? Mystic Lilac is a dusty lilac base with a ton of pale green micro-shimmer thrown in. And we all know just how much I love the combination of green-purple, right?

 

The polish is one the sheer side, so it took me three thin coats to get the opacity I wanted.Β  The formula, while a bit watery, was easily manageable. πŸ™‚ Even the short, wide and stiff SH brush (which I’m not used to) didn’t create any problems for me.

Really, the only hiccup I experienced was my own fault. I managed three thin coats on my left hand (pictured here) but to see if it could be worn with two thick coats applied it like that on my right hand.

Big mistake. That combined with the fact that I’d ran out of Seche Vite and was using China Glaze Fast Forward made it so that while my right hand dried surface dry, it wrinkled terribly and when I tried to deal with the wrinkling, it just slid of my nails like a band-aid coming off.

Had to redo my right hand. No problems when I used three thin layers instead of the two thick ones. πŸ™‚

Oooh, I love how subtle and sparkly it is! I’ve been wearing it for a day already and it’s definitely gonna stay on another day. πŸ˜€

V.

p.s. I dislike Asos. They messed up both my nail polish orders. I could reorder Barry M, but the Ciate polishes went out of stock while I was waiting for them, and they never arrived here. Instead, I got a tote bag that was intended for somebody else. 😦

Estonian girls, if you want to try out Sally Hansen, I’d recommend Kaubamaja, Stockmann and Ideaalkosmeetika. Unfortunately they all carry quite old collections, so for this particular shade, try eBay.
5 thoughts on “Sally Hansen Mystic Lilac

  1. It is weird, that the polish came off that way. In my opinion, CG Fast Forward is by far the best quick drying topcoat out there :S

    Of course, I haven’t tried Seche Vite (yet?), the reason being, that it is not sold here, but CG is readily available and reasonably priced. Do you know any good reasons I should get Seche?

    • I totally think it’s personal preference, but Seche Vite is definitely one of those top coats that at least should be tried out. It’s so popular for a reason. πŸ˜‰

      I find the drying time noticeably faster than ChG Fast Forward, it also has a glossier finish. I can apply it over any nail polish at it makes them all look like coloured (non-see through) glass.

      Another big plus for me, is that instead of drying only the top layer (as most dry fast top coats including the ChG) it seeps through all layers of polish drying them all. So it’s more forgiving of thick coats, and prevents bubbling better. (As you know, bubbling happens because the chemicals from the wet bottom layers escape via the semi-dry surface layer).

      Downside is that if put on dry polish it might cause shrinking (not always though) and this is why I keep a bottle of Fast Forward around for layering top coat.

      You’d also need to pick up a bottle of Seche Restore, to thin it about half-way through the bottle as regular thinners won’t work.

      Yes, and STILL I think it’s worth the hassle. πŸ˜€ Btw, I don’t know where you at, but in Tallinn you can pick up a bottle at Kaubamaja or BeautyPro. Same in Tartu. πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you, it was really interesting!

    I was not aware it is available at BeautyPro, I thought it is not sold in Estonia. Guess I have never really paid enough attention at BeautyPro:S No wonder, sometimes the ladies there don’t know themselves what they have and what they don’t πŸ˜›

    I think I am quite happy with Fast Forward right now, I prefer it to OPI and Essie and all the others because it is not so thick and covers the nail better. To me, et feels that it also penetrates and dries all the coats as promised, even on those polishes that are a bit old and impossible to dry without quick-drying topcoat. Then again, I always leave a few minutes between coats to prevent bald spots.

    Sure, it IS mostly a matter of personal preference and some day I’ll give Seche a chance πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

