Eyeko Pastel Vs Rain

If you, like me, have been wondering how alike exactly do Eyeko’s little beauties Pastel and Rain look this post is for you. 🙂

I haven’t done a comparison post in a while, and when I finally got Pastel in the mail today, I thought it was about time.

Eyeko’s Rain is (colour-wise) in my top ten polishes; I absolutely adore this beauty for many reasons. It looks like the sky when it is just about to rain, but lighter with this clever little hidden shimmer to it.

When I first wore it on my nails I pretty much thought it actually was a pastel blue, or a light grey with a very strong blue tint to it.

This is one of the reasons I held off on Pastel for a long time…. I didn’t want to end up with near twinsies in my collection. 😉 I kept on hoping some comparison swatches would pop up, but they never did. 😦

Finally, when I heard that Pastel might be pretty close to Chanel’s Riva, I decided to get it. (I cannot say if they are actually close; I haven’t seen Riva live.)

As you can see from the bottle pictures, they are close in that they are both light, blue-ish and have a shimmer to them. That’s where the similarities end.

I painted two coats of each on my nails. Index finger and ring finger are Pastel; middle finger and pinky are Rain.

As I mentioned, I used two coats of each for the swatches, but to be fair, Rain is a lot more opaque and with careful application would require only one thick coat for full coverage, while Pastel is sheerer and streaky and wearing it as a full manicure, I’d probably do three coats to get rid of all the bald spots. Otherwise, both polishes applied OK.

I took the close-ups from the same photo with the same lighting and angle so you can see the colour differences in similar conditions.

So…

Rain is a light grey creme with a very strong blue tint to it (compared to most light greys it would look like a muted blue) with barely there silver shimmer. The shimmer is beautiful when the sun hits, but most times it looks like a creme.

Pastel is a pale blue creme, just a bit lighter than Rain, with a light blue shimmer. The shimmer is more obvious than in Rain, but still something I’d call “hidden” in most light. For a careless observer this will look like a creme, but the shimmer is still strong enough that if you look for it, you can see it in lamp light as well. 🙂

I think they’re both beautiful and I’m happy I got them. 🙂

So, there you have it! Do you have one or both of these? Which do you like better?

V.

 

You can pick up Eyeko polishes at eyeko.com with free shipping in Europe. 

Leave a Reply

