A Rare Green

It’s the second day of Christmas and I’m feeling pretty tired of festive and shimmery. So, I thought I’d wear a nice and soothing colour between the holiday sparkle and year’s end glitter. πŸ™‚

It isn’t very easy to go rare polish hunting over here, because not that much cool colours are imported; most of the “older” colours you can find are either red or pink or nude. That’s why I was pretty tickled when for-sale-bin browsing last month I saw a pastel green polish. I love green, and pastel greens I don’t really have many of.

The polish in question is Essie’s St Martin Mint — a very pale yellowish green pastel creme with a very barely there pearly shimmer to it. The shimmer doesn’t really show anywhere except when you hold the bottle close to a bright light source. The polish is either from 2006 or 2007 (according to different sources) and discontinued.

As I’d except from pastels (but hope to be wrong) this was very streaky and it took four think coats to have it look decent on the nails.

The up side is that even though the four coats were annoying, the consistency of the formula was good — not runny nor goopy.

Despite the four coats, the drying time with Seche Vite was totally ok, maybe even on the fast side.

I really like the polish; it’s unlike anything I can think of as most other “mint” greens and pastel greens are more blueish. I usually prefer greens with a blue-ish tint as they suit my skin tone better, but St Martin Mint is just so cute that I’ll disregard the fact that it isn’t the best green for my skintone.

I imagine this will look amazing with a tan. πŸ™‚

V.

5 thoughts on “A Rare Green

  1. Your blog always creates me lemmings πŸ˜› I could’nt resist St Martin Mint today at BeautyPro, although I had no intention of buying it before πŸ™‚

    Anyway, it’s lovely and quite unique shade. Love it!

Leave a Reply

