Getting Ready for New Year’s Eve

I’m getting ready to make a post of my top five polishes acquired in 2010. For me, this will also double as my top 5 list as I only started collecting this summer.Very difficult.

Meanwhile, have a look at the mani I did for tomorrow night. πŸ˜€

This is one coat (!!!) of Alix Avien’s No 169, which is a super pigmented olive green shimmer. Great application and amazing dry-time on this. On my ring fingers I’m wearing two coatsΒ  OPI’s Sparkle-icious over the Alix Avien to add a little bling to the end of the year.

What are you wearing for New Year’s Eve? πŸ™‚

 

8 thoughts on “Getting Ready for New Year’s Eve

  1. Nice manicure for New Years eve!
    Tommorow I will be wearing China Rouge by China Glaze, its my perfect red.
    PS How do you store your nail polishes?

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚

      I actually used to store mine in a drawer, but then my collection expanded to the point they didn’t fit anymore, so right now I’m inbetween ideas and store them in cardboard boxes according to brand.

  2. I love the 169! So good coverage and super short drying time. Alix Avien is the biggest surpriser of 2010. Lots of colors to choose from, too. I would have never expected that from cheap polish. Must raid the counters in new year again!

    I am in the middle of deciding what to wear right now. It is especially complicated as I got a large haul of polishes today from the mail πŸ™‚ I think i’ll go with CG Ruby Pumps or OPI Glamour Game, with Wild and Crazy Colors Indian Chief on tips. Or maybe CG Mummy May I would be better? Hmm…

    • It totally is. I love the price and the quality. And definitely the drying time. πŸ˜‰

      So many options. But if you haven’t worn Ruby Pumps yet, you totally should. How many polishes do you have by now?

  3. I started playing around with polishes and finally wore Mummy May I over Smokin’ Hot with some sparkly Indian Chief patted on the tips πŸ™‚ It is a very lovely and festive manicure, I REALLY should take pictures… Btw, it has held up very well so far, no signs of wear and no loss of luster yet.

    I have bought a bottle of Ruby Pumps 3 (three!) times by now and never got around of wearing it. Some girlfriend has always snatched it from me before I ever had a chance to put it on πŸ™‚ I hope this one is a keeper, though.

    I think I have more than 350 polishes by now. Last time my daughter counted them, it was about 250 or so, but I have done some serious damage to my wallet lately and hauled A LOT. Anyway, I won’t be counting soon, because the hubby will get mad if he sees them all πŸ™‚

    How many do you have? Are you planning to get some more?

    • That mani sounds really pretty, and you *should* take pictures! Or start a blog! πŸ˜‰

      350? Wow. I guess I still have a long way to go, I have about 110+ polishes at the moment. Bought my first this summer and then got seduced into buying more and more.

      I still need to do a decent Zoya haul; it’s been in the planning stages forever now, but since the spring collection added a few lemmings I need to get going.

  4. I am also in desperate need of a decent Zoya haul πŸ™‚ I don’t have any of Zoya’s so far, but some of their shades are very tempting. I have my favourites picked and hopefully will be a proud owner of them soon.

    Besides Zoya, I need a Model’s Own haul badly, but I find their shipping steep and have decided to sit on it for a while.

    • My Zoya wishlist is way to big. I’m gonna need to get it down to 3-4 polishes for my first haul. Don’t wanna pay tax on it. πŸ˜› The main polish from Zoya I need is Crystal.

      I like Models Own, but find it a bit annoying that they have toluene at the very beginning of the ingredients list. One of my two Models Owns is already a bit on the thick side and I can’t use thinner to make it better. 😦 Regular thinner makes toluene-polishes a lumpy mess, you’d need a toluene containing thinner like Seche Restore.

Leave a Reply

