Sexy Shrooms

Chanel Paradoxal really is one of those colours you either love or hate. I guess that’s also the case with one of its acknowledged dupes — Barry M Dusky Mauve. I’ve had this polish for a couple of months now, and I’ve yet to wear it. But, right now, riding the wave of my love for Ciate Fade to Greige, I decided to give it a go.

And what do you know? I love it! It’s also devilish to photograph accurately. That’s why so many pictures. The first shows how it looks in most lighting conditions. The second is the most accurate base colour (almost a dupe for Fade to Greige there) and the last shows some of the purple shimmer. 🙂

The application was good, as it is with Barry M. However, I’m not a great fan of their polishes as they tend to chip in a matter of hours on me. 😦 We’ll see how Dusky Mauve fairs; I love the colour so much, I’m willing to pick up another dupe that lasts better on me. Here’s to hoping it doesn’t come to that!

For Estonian ladies, Alessandro’s Hypnotic is an easy to find dupe. 😉

V.

7 thoughts on “Sexy Shrooms

  1. I think Hypnotic is not so easy to find anymore. Last week there was only 2 bottles left in Kaubamaja and I haven’t seen it anywhere else.

    Then again, if you are willing to splash out, why not get the real thing? It is readily available at I.L.U store…

    • The two bottles were still left yesterday. 🙂 You know, I might! From Chanel polishes Paradoxal really is pretty much the only one that has sparked my interest. But my main thing is getting something that stays put on my nails. I know for certain that Alessandro polishes work well for me, while I have no idea about Chanel’s… From what I’ve read, they can’t really boast great lasting power. Then again, I’ll never know if I don’t try!

  2. Sorry, I can’t really tell about the lasting power, as I’ve got gels and I get only a bit of tipwear. My main issue with Chanel nail polishes has been their drying time, that seems to be on the long side, even with good quick dry topcoat. But Paradoxal seems to be a bit better than my previous Chanels. Hope it works for you, if you decide to get it!

    I am still a bit astonished that Paradoxal is so readily available in Estonia. Not enough nail polish junkies here.

  3. Revlon ‘Perplex’ is supposedly a very close dupe for Paradoxal as well! I really want that one because I’d never pay 20+ dollars for a bottle of nail polish. (Well… Never say never. I’m sure I would if I wanted it badly enough, but that’d be off ebay as a hardtofind or something. Haha.)

    Thanks for the comment on my blog! I enjoy yours as well.

    • I know quite a few dupes! Barry M, Revlon, Jessica, Alessandro are all confirmed, and I’m pretty sure there are more out there. Hope you can find at least one of them! 😀

  4. Loving the colour! I have Paradoxal and also the Models Own dupe that I can’t remember the name of now. But I could have all the dupes and still love them all.

    • It’s definitely a lovely shade! 🙂 It’s funny though, I usually think of taupes as winter colours, but I’m gonna have to wear this in summer to actually see the shimmer without needing to shove my hand in a lamp. XP Gloomy overcast winters suck.

Leave a Reply

