Smoky Blue

Attacking my pile of untrieds still. So, Mavala’s Smoky Blue. Much excitement for the polish as it looks fascinating in the bottle — a darkish muted blue with bright blue small glitter pieces. I was totally expecting the glitter pieces to be sparse but there on the nail. You know, coming to life when the sun hits etc.

The application and drying time of this polish are amazing. Super smooth and highly pigmented formula with lighting dry time.Β  Hate the cap though. It’s too small and very difficult to hold while painting your nails.

Back to the polish itself:

I suppose if you squint hard enough you can see the small glitter pieces in the middle of the nail where the light hits just right. But that’s because I shoved my hand into a lamp. πŸ˜›

It’s just a creme in most lights, including bright direct sunlight.

Which would still be fine. But it chipped. Bad. In less than 2o hrs (majority of which I was asleep). I had half-a-nail chunks missing from three nails before I even got home from work.

Seriously. I could deal with no-sparkle, but chipping is a NO.

I suppose it’ll still work for stamping with its one-coat mega-pigment. Better luck tomorrow! πŸ™‚

V.

5 thoughts on “Smoky Blue

  1. I’m so sorry to hear it chipped on you. I have this one and like it. Never had any major chipping issues with Mavala that I can remember. But yeah, I noticed the same thing about the glitter… you can’t really see it on the nail. That was a bit of a disappointment to me as well.

    • I think a lot of polishes react differently on different people. I can’t say anything certain about Mavala yet, as I’ve only tried the one, but for example Color Club also chips badly on me. And Nubar and Misa chip quickly as well. At the same time I can wear China Glaze, OPI, Orly, Alessandro, Essie, etc with not a hint of wear. Also, really really cheap random drugstore polishes won’t chip on me. The ones I’ve tried anyways.

      I guess it’s all a matter of experimenting and seeing which brands work for you and which don’t. The one that makes me the saddest is Color Club. 😦 😦

  2. I never tried Mavala because their bottles seem too small for the price… and color of this polish is amazing, I have something extremely similar, if not identical – Underwater by Essence, newer version. I love it

Leave a Reply

