First Watermarble!

I like trying out new things with my nails, so here’s my first attempt at watermarbling. πŸ™‚ I went with some polishes I really like together — Models Own Grace Green, Alix Avien purple creme and Alix Avien white creme.

I started out with a coat of Grace Green and then did my marble over it with the three colours mentioned. It was less and more difficult than I’d expected. The marbling itself was quite easy as was tape-protecting most of my finger from polish, but — there’s always a but — the cuticle cleanup was horrible. I’m usually a neat painter and I’ve rarely had to clean my cuticles from polish so this was uncharted territory.

Needless to say, I went out and bought a corrector pen to help with cleanup for next attempts.

BTW, the funniest thing here is, I subconsciously matched the colours in my winter mittens! πŸ˜€ I only noticed the next day when I was outside.

Gotta admit, I like the effect! So when I have the extra time, I’ll be doing this again. πŸ™‚

V.

10 thoughts on “First Watermarble!

    • Definitely a lot of work, but so worth it! πŸ™‚ I only wish I had the patience to wear the same nails for more than 1-2 days, then it wouldn’t seem like so much of an effort to do this.

  1. The dreaded clean up has kept me from trying marbling. It just seems to be more fuss than I want to deal with. I have heard some bloggers say they use Vaseline which seems to me would be even better than tape.

    Now those darn clean up pens, I tried a couple different brands but found that a) they dried out way too quickly (would be nice if they were refillable) and b) like you I love darker jewel tones and it seemed like once you used a pen to clean up a pigmented blue, green or red, it left traces of those colors when you tried to use it again. Then I found Megan Chair’s clean up tutorial. When she ended her own blog she moved to Polish or Perish and reposted it here… http://polishorperish.blogspot.com/2010/09/how-to-get-that-picture-perfect.html . I use a 1/8″ angle brush rather than the filbert she uses, but the method really works. The only thing I would add is always rinse your brush well in water when you’re done or that pure Acetone will melt the brush real quick.

    Maybe I’ll suck it up one of these days and try a water marble. Yours turned out beautifully.

  2. Love the look of marbled nails but definitely don’t have the patience to complete a mani this way! The color combination you picked is lovely & the fact that it matches your mittens made me giggle!!

  3. That is seriously stunning. Great work. Both the variation and colours are very pretty. I have seen some crap marbling and yours is refreshingly beautiful.

    I find that the best way to clean up is using a small round brush. Make up brushes are easier for me to find than paintbrushes so I bought a brush marketed as an eyeliner brush, although I would not use this shape for eyeliner. Here is what it looks like in comparison to the size of my nail, apologies for the crappy quality, my manicure is a week old and my phone would not take a better picture: http://media.share.ovi.com/m1/s/2799/5eeee6534c38446db6712f7b20ba648e.jpg

Leave a Reply

