Day 20: Water Marble

Here’s the watermarble day of the challenge.🙂 But before that, a little rant — I’m in a nail polish funk lately, it seems. I spent some time in Finland (hence the slight absence, sorry!) and dropped by some stores and looked at all the H&M, Models Own, Wet’n’Wild, etc polishes I’ve been craving…

And came back home without picking up a single one.😮 I mean, they were pretty, but I could always think of a polish I already owned which was pretty much the same. Ditto with the gorgeous Alessandro summer collection full of stunners.😦

 Kind of makes me want to shout: Aren’t there any original polishes out there any more?!

Enough of that, here’s my watermarble:

I used American Apparel L’Esprit for the base. Then I used L’Esprit, Essence Surferama and MIYO Peacock for the marble.

I think it turned out alright, but I’m not a fan of the waterbubbles on some of the nails. Also, Peacock turned out to be a bit too sheer — I wanted a pastel yellow to contrast the lilac and berry pink, but instead it looks like an off-white.

Still, considering I’ve done a watermarble only twice before… not too shabby.🙂

MLV.

8 thoughts on “Day 20: Water Marble

  1. I know EXACTLY how you feel! I have some 300-ish polishes as well and I have not bought any new “regular” polishes in months because I already have something close to everything I like. I have recently bought a few Nfu-Oh Jelly Syrups and they really are special and fantastic for jelly sandwiches. Slightly different but otherwise pretty damn similar polishes to what we already have is really not worth €€€, right? Like, “ooooh this one is slightly more blue-based or has pink shimmer instead of lavender”. Pfft, not good enough.

    • Yes! Exactly. I still look at blogs and expand my wishlist all the time, but when I finally see the polish live… it most often falls flat and I back out of the purchase.

  2. I finally did a water marble about a month ago, and even though it came out nice, the clean up was atrocious. I am gonna have to get down the tape method for sure. Anyway, this came out spectacular.

  3. I had the exact same experience a few days ago in Finland where I didn´t find much anything! But then I found that the tax-free shop on Viking Line had a small Butter London stack and I could not resist that🙂

    • WHAT?! Oh no! I didn’t even visit the tax free shop since there’s usually nothing there. Rats. I need to keep this in mind the next time I go over.😉

Leave a Reply

